OJ EPO SE 1/2019, p12 - II.2 - Business distribution scheme of the Legal Board of Appeal for 2019

The Presidium,

pursuant to Rule 12b, paragraph 4, of the Implementing Regulations to the European Patent Convention, as amended by decision CA/D 6/16 of the Administrative Council of 30 June 2016, which entered into force on 1 July 2016 (see OJ EPO 2016, A100),

having regard to Article 1, paragraph 1, of the Rules of Procedure of the Boards of Appeal,

hereby adopts the following business distribution scheme:

Article 1

Members of the Legal Board of Appeal

The Legal Board of Appeal is composed as follows:


Wolfgang Sekretaruk


Gérard Weiss

Rainer Moufang

Eugène Dufrasne

Tamás Bokor

Christopher Heath

Bernhard Müller

David Rogers

Petra Schmitz

Theodora Karamanli

Ingo Beckedorf[ * ]

Claus-Peter Brandt

Fritz Blumer

Jean Geschwind

Lukas Bühler

Dorothea Prietzel-Funk

Robert Cramer

Wim van der Eijk

Eleni Kossonakou

Christof Schmidt

Wilhelm Ungler

Peter Guntz

Sofía Fernández de Córdoba

Olga Loizou

Martina Blasi

Richard Winkelhofer

Georg Decker

Jeannine Hoppe

Yvonne Podbielski

Paul de Heij

Carl Josefsson

Aurélie Jimenez

Roberto Romandini

(as from 01.05.2019).

Article 2

Composition of the board for a particular appeal

(1) On receipt of an appeal by the registry, the Chairman shall determine the composition of the board responsible for deciding it from amongst the Board members.

(2) In determining the composition the Chairman shall in particular take account of the workload of each member and the language requirements of the case.

(3) Where appeals pending before the Board are closely linked, in particular by involving similar legal or factual questions, the Chairman may order that the board shall decide in the same composition.

(4) If a member cannot or can no longer participate in a case for which he has been designated, the Chairman shall designate another member of the Board to replace that member, having regard in particular to the criteria indicated in paragraph 2.

Article 3

Term of validity

This business distribution scheme shall apply from 1 January 2019 until 31 December 2019.

Done at Haar on 14 December 2018

For the Presidium

The Chairman




[ * ] The Chairman's deputy is indicated by an asterisk (*).

2 references found.

Click X to load a reference inside the current page, click on the title to open in a new page.

EPC Implementing Rules

Offical Journal of the EPO